My Experience of Working at the London 2012 Olympic Games


Hi Everyone! 😀

Before I go into some detail of what it was like working at the London 2012 Olympic Games, I would like to congratulate all the Games Makers for their hard work and dedication to making sure these Games went like clock work. It was also an honour to work with them as they were all friendly and showed a lot of enthusiasm.

From the 30th July till the 12th August 2012 working as a Steward was not just challenging but also was a learning experience. I was very lucky to work at four different venues within the Olympic Park in Stratford and meet so many spectators, athletes, staff and VIPs. I worked 3 days at the Copper Box, 6 days at the Velodrome, 4 days at the Riverbank Arena and 1 day at the Basketball Arena.

I met many people including some famous faces whilst at the Olympics including Matt Dawson (Ex-Rugby Player/Presenter, the guy from Question of Sport (BBC)), Culture Secretary Jeremy Hunt, Team GB Cycling Team , Sir Chris Hoy, Team France Men’s Handball Gold Finalists, The Sports Minister of St. Lucia and the Cycling Coach of  Team Columbia. It was an honour meeting them in person and all were very nice (yes including Jeremy Hunt).

In my opinion, working at the Velodrome was the most exciting as it was where I saw Team GB win 3 Gold Medals in two days and the crowd were very loud. Even though the temperature was a constant 28 Degrees Centigrade (82.4 Fahrenheit) at every event (maximum performance temperature for the Athletes), I enjoyed it very much. I also got my very first compliment from a Spectator and received a very rare Columbian Team Pin Badge from the Cycling Coach of Team Columbia for just smiling.

The other venues were also magnificent and very green in my opinion. Around the park I could see how sustainable each building was and how people were aware of not throwing rubbish everywhere. I also saw loads of recycling bins not just inside the venues but around the park too.

Below are a couple of  photos which I took  from working at the Olympic Park in Stratford, London:

With one of Team France’s Men’s Handball Gold Medal Winner
Track Cycling

In regards to the next Vlogs and their Blog posts, look out next week for the start of my Florida series. I hope you enjoyed reading this Blog post and please feel free to comment, share, tweet, subscribe and spread the word! 🙂

From,

Sav

Leave a Reply

