Sherlock Series 3 Review Blog


Hi Everyone! 🙂

Hope you have all enjoyed reading the recent review blogs! Please also check out Savan’s Sounds and SavanFilms blogs.

I have watched all three series of Sherlock and was not disappointed with them at all. I love a detective crime drama and I have read some Sherlock Holmes books when I was younger so I do know about the great detective by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle.

In regards to the thirds series I am going to review briefly about the three episodes.

The Empty Hearse:

I enjoyed watching how different they showed different ways how Sherlock survived that fall in the second series finale cliffhanger. I also enjoyed the comedy (Sherlock kissing Molly), the reunion of John and Sherlock, the introduction to Mary Morstan, Mycroft being undercover and of course the solving of a terrorist plot similar to Guy Fawkes’ Gunpowder plot (albeit a modern twist).

The only thing I disliked was the way the messed up the London Underground (being a geographer it confused me and many others). See this article for why they messed it up otherwise it was an excellent episode.  I give it a 9.5 out of 10.

The Sign of Three:

This light-hearted episode showed the wedding of John and Mary and how human it made Sherlock by being the best man. It was hilarious on how he coped by telling cases they solved and unsolved during the speech.

In the end they did manage to solve a pre-attempted murder and finding out Mary was pregnant was an unexpected twist to the original story. I give it a 9 out of 10.

His Last Vow:

This episode was funny but also had a darker feel to it than previous episodes. Being it the finale Sherlock has been pitted against media mogul Charles Augustus Magnussen, the master of blackmail.

The character was well played and very evil. I also liked that he also had a mind palace like Sherlock and gave our detective a run for his money.

Mary’s secret was amazing and totally understand why John hangs out with psychopaths. I also enjoyed seeing Benedict’s real parents playing as the detective’s parents and there were so many good comedy scenes too.

Finally, seeing the return of Moriarty (spoiler alert) wants me know how he did it and also cannot wait for series 4! I give this episode a 10 out of 10.

I hope you enjoyed reading that and here are some treats for doing so:

See you all soon,

From,

Sav

Leave a Reply

