London360 Blog: The London360 Experience: Having The Time of My Life


Hi Everyone! 🙂

Here is a blog I wrote for London360 on my time at London360 on the 24th September 2015:

I am currently doing an intensive twelve week course at the Media Trust in West London that is going to help me become a much more confident person and have skills that are essential to working in the Media Industry. This course is called the “London360 Multimedia Genius Training” and I am now approaching the fourth week.

I discovered this course by accident whilst searching for jobs on the internet in August 2015. The sort of jobs I was looking at ranged from office roles to radio roles. It was very soul destroying because I kept on getting very little response from the jobs I was applying to apart from the odd interview and rejection email. I had even joined a youth job agency but that wasn’t really helpful either.

I was really desperate to get my foot in the door because I had experience in blogging, photography, radio and social media. I also had experience of being a Journalist for a podcast website that wants to give a voice to the youth (Podium.me).

Once I received the confirmation call about the course, I was very surprised to be selected. Then once I received the confirmation email I started to prepare myself mentally for the first day on the 7th September 2015. I wasn’t sure what to expect and who I would meet once it started.

The first day arrived and I met 29 other people who were selected to do this course. I also met the two people who were in charge and they were Jasmine Dotiwala and Reshma Biring.

Once the first few days went by I felt that this was the best decision I had made in a long time. This is because I was just being myself and my confidence was coming back in a way I haven’t known in a while.

What I have learnt on this course so far has been inspiring and very helpful in many ways. For example, it has given me insights into the Fashion Industry which I am not familiar with and helped me learn more about Digital Media, Photography and Television.

It has helped me build new skills like being confident on camera when I am not naturally a presenter myself and how to film on a broadcast ready camera. I have also learnt about various media terms (jargon) such as B-Roll and Dutch Angles.

I have discovered that I am not the only one who had issues and that we are our own network. I am happy to say that I have made some great new friends who I get along with and hope to be friends with for the rest of my life.

I had opportunities to go on location to shoots such as my very first protest and visiting three homes during the Open House London Weekend. These were with the people I had made friends with on the course and London360 Reporter Suna Yokes. I really got a long with them all during each shoot and became friends with Suna. We also had a chance after each shoot to have a social at a few nice cafés and restaurants

There have also been great opportunities to visit Universal Music UK and Google UK Headquarters which are both in London. Going to both places have also been inspiring and meeting the people who work there has been very helpful in understanding their industries.

I am looking forward to visiting the BBC’s very own New Broadcasting House near Oxford Street in London. Even though I have been there a few times for a number of reasons, it is always nice to visit one of the companies I would happily work for.

During the remainder weeks I am going to learn more and build my skills up further with confidence. I admit that there have been days that I have been feeling low in mood and not that confident, but this course has actually helped me keep busy and active.

The support and advice I have received from both Jasmine and Reshma has been really good and has kept me going. Both of them have also are aware of my issues and treat me like a Human Being which is all I ever want from who I meet in my life.

Finally, I was asked where I would like to see myself in five years’ time. To be honest I hope to produce content as a radio producer and be a journalist. I also hope that I am still doing my blogging and photography on the side.

___________________________________________________________________________

Since writing this the course is now over (ended at the end of November 2015) and I am much more confident. I am looking forward to the New Year :).

Leave a Reply

