From ‘Yellow’ to ‘An Adventure of A Lifetime’ – My Coldplay Journey


Written for London360 in March 2016:

Coldplay have so far released seven albums since formation in 1996 and they have had hits such as ‘Yellow,’ ‘Clocks,’ ‘Speed of Sound,’ ‘Viva la Vida,’ ‘Paradise,’ ‘Magic’ and ‘Adventure of a Lifetime.’ I have been a fan of the band since 1999 when they released ‘Yellow’ and have thoroughly enjoyed their music so far.

Their latest album “A Head Full of Dreams” according from lead band member Chris Martin is the band’s last one and they will be touring throughout this year. They will start on the 31st March 2016 in Argentina and is supposed to finish on the 3rd September 2016 in Santa Clara, USA. However, there may be more extra dates announced on their website.

I have tried to purchase tickets to their latest tour but unfortunately they have sold out very fast. I was very fortunate to be a part of their Mylo Xyloto tour in 2012 when they visited London at the Emirates Stadium for three nights. This was because I was at the time a Steward for Arsenal Football Club and got to see the band perform at their best. The energy and atmosphere on those three nights was amazing and very memorable for me that I won’t forget it.

It was also on one of the nights I had found out that I would graduate from University. This made the evening even more special as I belted out ‘Viva la Vida’ and ‘The Scientist’ from memory.

Of course they are still brilliant and I would love to see them again live but it hasn’t been easy getting tickets. The tickets normally sell out pretty quickly and re-sale is a joke with prices normally double or even quadruple of the original ticket.

I still get goosebumps singing along to Coldplay songs and my iPod has a significant number of their tunes. Being so passionate of the band has brought haters and friendships too so far in my life. I have been fortunate to have a couple of close friends who appreciate the band and talk about which songs are their favourite.

When I had my own radio shows at University and at Hospital Radio I always played at least one song each show. I also played the songs that haven’t been given much air time such as ‘Shiver’ and ‘Major Minus.’ I used to get requests to play their songs from the listeners, friends and family too.

I don’t have an exact favourite album but their recent one is definitely up there as their best one yet. I do hope like other fans that this won’t be their last one but if it is then I would cherish it with all my heart.

Finally, if they do release another album in the future, would it take the band onto a new era of musical genius?

________________________________________________________________

Feel free to like and comment below.

Leave a Reply

